Is my Account Private?
Yes your account is private to you. The My Video Room does not share any member data with anyone, or outside organisations. We maintain all systems completely locked down, and no user data will ever be sold or shared outside the community for any reason.
Is My Profile Private ?
By default, your membership profile is visible within the My Video Room, and only to other subscibed members – you can make your profile hidden by going into your social privacy settings. Think carefully about doing this though, as other My Video Room users, may not interact with profiles that are hidden (think of how often you answer calls from blocked numbers).
When you open your account, you are asked to fill in theMy Video Room’s mandatory fields, you can change the privacy settings of your fields in your social control panel.
How Does Video Privacy Work?
The My Video Room takes Video Privacy very seriously and has done several things to make it safer and more private
- The My Video Room has created its own private video infrastructure so that no member data ever leaves the system. We don’t use Zoom, Teams, or any other outside video system which could leave data behind.
- All Video sessions, in groups, user rooms, events, and My Video Room feeds are encrypted and private
- You have your own video room which you can use to message users and send video invite requests to. This avoids the need of sharing actual contact details like Telephone numbers, WhatsApp details, etc. Its safe and private to use your own video room to chat.
- Group Video Rooms have strict controls and cant be recorded etc. We disable such features at the server level.
- Can I deliver services and consultations through the Video ? Yes – you can. Just send someone a link to your video room for a time, and be there waiting for them when they hop in.
Can I Block Someone ?
Yes you can – you can click on a user profile, and block them.
Message Privacy ?
Private messages in profiles can only be seen by the sender and receiver. We do not allow the forwarding of messages. We also allow you to block users on the network to ensure unwanted access is removed.
Can I Be Forgotten ?
Yes – you can request your account to be deleted from your control panel options under privacy settings. We will completely delete all records of you from our systems.
Can Others see what I Buy ?
No – no one can see your purchases or your purchasing history. Merchants on the marketplace can see if you have bought something from them (to fulfil your order), but your purchases and payments history is private to you only. The exception is if you leave comments or feedback publically to a store which clearly will identify your My Video Room username (not your real name) if you chose to leave feedback.
What About Address Details?
All personal details like your name, card billing, shipping and invoice details etc are completely private and never show to anyone outside of yourself. No member can see or find any personal detail about you. The My Video Room’s own management screens also dont show our staff that information.
Credit Card and Payment Details and Privacy?
The My Video Room allows you to store your payment details with our payment partner (Stripe) – the My Video Room itself does not hold any credit card data, or payments data for you. That information is entirely with our payment partner. You can in your account control panel change your payment details at any time and update your card details. The payments systems of the My Video Room are fully compliant to the Payments Communication Industry Data Security Standards.
What About Groups ?
By default My Video Room groups are private to the My Video Room WITH ONE EXCEPTION. Your content and activity on our clearly labelled (WORLD GLOBAL GROUPS) are visible to the outside. Those and Only those groups can be seen by outside members. If you don’t use those groups no one will ever see your My Video Room interaction.
How to protect your personal information
Consider what you Publish
You are in control of how much information you share on My Video Room or any other website. Don’t post information you consider to be private, and be thoughtful about when you want to publicly share your location.
Be wary of any communication that asks for your private contact information, personal information, or passwords. If you are ever unsure before you publish, we recommend you ask yourself the following questions:
- Who am I sharing this information with?
- How much and what type of information am I sharing?
- How many people can see the information I am sharing?
- Can I trust all the people that see this information?
Not everyone has the same definition of what is considered private and what should be shared. If a friend or connection has posted information you prefer to be kept private, contact them and ask them to take down the content. Likewise, be considerate of others. If someone requests you remove information that you posted about them, please honour their request.